Hitting People with Sticks
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Concepts vs form – eskrima

Ryan ran warm-ups on Tuesday, and as usual, did an excellent job of it.  Good cardio session followed by a nice cool-down and stretch.

This class focused a lot on drills and form, including largo angles both informal and formal, serrada strikes and counters, and dequerdas strikes and counters.

It turned out that we all could stand to work on getting a bit more muscle memory to go along with the concepts we’ve acquired in eskrima.  We understand what we’re doing and why, but the accuracy and comfort level on certain things are lacking.

Specifically, Instructor McWethy suggested we all work on accuracy in our angles – it appears that we’re either getting lax in our targeting, or didn’t learn it properly in the first place.  I know I need to work on that, and also in my comfort level in serrada counters – as I mentioned above, I know what I’m supposed to be doing and why, but my body isn’t nearly as clear on it.  I need to beat these movements into my body until I don’t have to think about them.

To address this, I’ve resolved (and we’ll see how good I am at this) to practice every night I’m not in class, regardless of how much time I think I have.  Even five minutes is better than nothing, and I managed a good hour last night.

Tonight, I believe we’re working on drilling sparring techniques.  I’m looking forward to it.

No Responses to “Concepts vs form – eskrima”

Leave a Reply

