Hitting People with Sticks
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Barefoot running shoes – other exercise

I’m still getting up and going for a run barefoot style (yay me) on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, but I’ve decided I need shoes designed for the task.  Since traditional cross-trainers like I’m using have most of the cushioning and snug fit on the heel and instep rather than the forefoot, I’m noticing a lot of wriggling around on my toes and the ball of my foot that’s adding to some seriously irritated skin.  I’ve decided to go with the Nike Free 5.0 v4 (I wanted the bright chartreuse, but sadly I won’t be able to blind all my neighbors with my extremely loud shoes), and according to Zappos, they should be at my door today.  They upgraded the shipping for free, so I’ll definitely review them on Friday.

After the run, I spent a good chunk of time going over the newly (to me) clarified sequences in basic serrada counters.  It really amazes me how much fun this is, both physically and mentally.  I guess there’s just something in me that enjoys being able to beat up folks in complicated ways.  Heh.  It’s motivating enough that I’m going to start doing that *every* morning, not just on non-class days.

That seems to be the trick to consistent workouts – find something you love doing so much that you actually *want* to lose sleep over it.  For some people, it’s biking or yoga – for me, it’s hitting people with sticks.  🙂

One Response to “Barefoot running shoes – other exercise”

  1. There is obviously a lot to learn about this. There were some pretty good points.


Leave a Reply

