Hitting People with Sticks
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Nailing down form – eskrima

Last night’s class was a lot of brain work.

Serrada is a very formal version of FMA, and as such, it has very specific rules and goals.  A bit like a very angry, precise dance.

Except, of course, for the angry part.

The more amped up I get while doing serrada, the more problems I have.  My footwork gets all prancy, I start breathing hard, and I put far too much effort into not being efficient.  I work too hard, because I get excited and nervous.

So – lots to work on there.

On the plus side, I did get to do a bit of teaching of the basic serrada counters to some of the lower-ranked students, and I really enjoyed it.  As I’ve noted before, teaching is one of the best ways to cement your own knowledge, so I take these opportunities as gold.

No Responses to “Nailing down form – eskrima”

Leave a Reply

